Barbershopper Of The Year

2019 – Louis Petroni

Louis & his wife Patti have two grown children.  He has been a barbershopper for 24 years, most of it as a member of the Seneca Land District while living & teaching in the Cuba, NY area.  While in New York he distinguished himself by serving in many chapter and district level positions.  In fact, before moving South, Louis was inducted into the Seneca Land District Hall of Fame in 2013.  Since moving to Brunswick County and transferring to our chapter, he has served several board positions, most recently as Secretary.  His college degree was in Music so he has been tapped on many occasions to fill in as director for rehearsals & for public performances.  He has also shared his talents as Chairman or Co-chair of several recent spring shows.  He continues to provide leadership and/or guidance for some of our outdated policies/procedures as well as creating guidelines for future show chairmen where no prescribed procedures have existed.  

All in all,  our chapter has been very fortunate to have a nugget with the talents of a Louis Petroni join our chapter with a willingness to dig in and assist year after year.  Oh! and did we mention that he can sing too?  Seems he has an affinity to the number 4 –  he sings in a quartet and loves to golf in a foursome too.

Congratulations Louis & best wishes as you enter your new challenge as our Chapter President!

At the end of each year, a “Barbershopper of the Year” is selected. Candidates for this honor must meet the following criteria:

  1. Must be an active member of the Cape Fear Chordsmen
  2. Must have performed outstanding action(s) for the betterment of the chapter
  3. Any active member who has NOT received the BOTY award the previous five (5) years is eligible for this award

The selection committee consists of the Active award recipients who are available with the second most recent recipient serving as chairman of the committee. The presenter should be the committee chairman or his designee.


Previous Years

* Denotes deceased member

** No Longer Affiliated/Moved/Transferred/Quit

1997 – Paul Parker*

1998 – Don Schmitt

1999 – Dave Hogin*

2000 – Tom Head

2001 – Wally Bader*

2002 – Bob Clark (2)

2003 – Andre Pronko**

2004 – Ed Owens

2005 – Larry Reinhart

2006 – Richard Millard

2007 – Tom Martyn

2008 – Andre Brillaud**

2009 – Roger Hawkins**

2010 – Jim Bader**

2011 – Roy Holzwarth

2012 – Arnold Cosby

2013 – Joe Loughlin**

2014 – R. Manley Lucas

2015 – Larry Hunt**

2016 – Douglas Wick

2017 – Don Smith

2018 – Jim Boyd

2019 – Louis Petroni


Cape Fear Chordsmen - Amazon Smile